» News

INDONESIA POLLS: Election violations in

Publication Date : 28-07-2014


The legal team of the Prabowo Subianto-Hatta Rajasa ticket has specified the details of alleged presidential election violations in 34 provinces across Indonesia, in its lawsuit submitted to the Constitutional Court on Friday.

Based on election result dispute (PHPU) documents published on the court’s official website at, in the province of Aceh, election violations were related to the number of voters in the province being different than the number of ballots used in the election.

The Prabowo-Hatta team said the Aceh General Elections Commission (KPUD) and related committees, such as district election committees and election organising groups, were unable to carry out their main duties and functions in line with existing laws and regulations, leading to the presidential election being undemocratic, Antara news agency reported.

The Prabowo-Hatta team said that in North Sumatra, particularly in South Nias regency, the KPUD had used its power to mark up the results of a presidential and vice presidential candidate by between 100 and 200 per cent.

In this regard, the team said, it had filed objections with the Election Supervisory Agency (Bawaslu), which later accommodated the report by issuing recommendations for revotes at a number of polling stations. However, the KPUD did not implement the recommendations.

In West Sumatra, structured, systematic and massive violations allegedly occurred in the form of voter mobilisation via additional special voter lists (DPKTb).

This could be indicated from the number of voters that was different than the total number of valid and invalid ballots.

In Bangka Belitung, Jambi and Riau, the Prabowo-Hatta team said there were 78,581, 213,789, and 444,756 questionable voters, respectively.

In Jakarta and Lampung, there were also indications of voter mobilisation by the misuse of DPKTb.

In Jakarta, Bawaslu had recommended the KPUD Jakarta to check the vote results from 5,817 polling stations and to carry out revotes in 13 polling stations, but only the latter was conducted by the KPUD.

In West Java, the Prabowo-Hatta team claimed it had not received a strong response from the KPUD to accommodate and resolve alleged irregularities that had been reported.

Other violations reported occurred in a number of provinces, comprising Bali, Banten, Central Java, East Java, East Nusa Tenggara, Papua, West Nusa Tenggara, West Papua, Yogyakarta, and all provinces in Kalimantan and Sulawesi.


Mobile Apps Newsletters ANN on You Tube