» News

INDIA POLL: Brisk polling in Delhi and eastern states reported

Publication Date : 11-04-2014


An impressive 64 per cent turnout was recorded in Lok Sabha polls for the seven seats in the country's Capital where the BJP is seeking victory riding on 'Modi wave' and AAP and Congress posing a challenge by promising good governance and development.

Delhi Election Commission officials said around 64 per cent of 1.27 crore eligible voters exercised their franchise till 6 pm.  In 2009 Lok Sabha polls, the overall voting percentage was recorded at 52.3 per cent, which had increased to 66 per cent in the 2013 Delhi Assembly election in December last year.

The prominent contenders in the fray include Union Ministers Kapil Sibal and Krishna Tirath, Delhi BJP chief Harsh Vardhan, Congress' Ajay Maken, Sandeep Dikshit, Rajmohan Gandhi, grandson of Mahatma Gandhi, journalist-turned- politician Ashutosh and BJP's Meenakshi Lekhi.

Vice-President Hamid Ansari, Congress chief Sonia Gandhi, Congress Vice President Rahul Gandhi, Priyanka Gandhi, Delhi Lt Governor Najeeb Jung and AAP leader Arvind Kejriwal were among the early voters.

Odisha recorded 60 per cent polling till 4 p.m. and there was brisk voting in Jharkhand, Bihar and Andaman and Nicobar Islands in the third phase of polling for 21 Lok Sabha seats and 70 Assembly constituencies in Odisha.

Andamans recorded the region's highest turnout of 55 per cent, Jharkhand 50 per cent and Bihar 46.89 per cent. Polling was preceded by violence in Bihar with two CRPF personnel killed and seven injured in a landmine blast triggered by Maoists near Sawa Lakh Baba Mandir at the entrance of Bhimbandh jungle in Jamui parliamentary constituency in Munger district at 5:30 a.m., DSP, Khargpur, Ranjan Kumar, told PTI. The CRPF personnel killed in the blast were identified as head constable Ravindra Rai and constable Sone Gora, Kumar said. In Gaya, the police seized and defused six can bombs weighing 30 kg each from Banke Bazar area under Imamganj Assembly segment. In Jharkhand, Maoists exploded landmines in the forests of Latehar district and exchanged gunfire with security personnel before polling began in the Chatra Lok Sabha seat but there was no casualty, Latehar SP Michael S Raj said.

In Odisha, suspected Maoists pulled out polling personnel from a vehicle in the Mathili area in Malkangiri and burnt four EVMs meant for four booths late last night, Malkangiri SP Akhileswar Singh said.

Among the 80 contestants for six LS seats in Bihar are Speaker Meira Kumar, ex-Kerala Governor Nikhil Kumar.

In Odisha, among the 98 candidates for 10 LS seats, prominent contestants are ex-Congress CMs Giridhar Gamang and Hemanand Biswal, ex-Union ministers Jual Oram (BJP) and Bhakta Charan Das (Congress).


Mobile Apps Newsletters ANN on You Tube