» News

Floods, mudslides kill 23 in Sri Lanka

Publication Date : 05-06-2014


The number of fatalities in the widespread flooding and landslides caused by days of heavy rain over eight districts increased to 23 yesterday with seven persons missing according to the Disaster Management Centre (DMC).

DMC deputy director Sarath Lal Kumara yesterday told The Island that over 44,091 people from 10,974 families in Matara, Gampaha, N’Eliya, Kegalle, Galle, Kurunegala, Ratnapura, Kalutara and Colombo districts had been affected by adverse weather and over 2,843 members of 684 families had been moved to safe places.

"Major rivers especially Kelani and Nilwala have overflowed drowning some people in areas still recovering from heavy rains and landslides," Lal Kumara added.

He said there had been a let-up in rains in some areas of Colombo, but downpours were still continuing in other districts.

Seven people were still missing and 34 others were injured, Lal Kumara said.

Relief and rescue agencies led by the disaster management ministry and the Sri Lankan navy and air force are delivering food supplies in eight districts, particularly to flood-hit villages.

The ministry had also taken steps to offer cash assistance to each of the families affected by the flooding, Lal Kumara said.

Meanwhile, weather forecasters said that the situation in Colombo had improved yesterday. More showers could be expected today all over the country especially in Sabaragamuwa, Western, and Central provinces and Galle and Matara Districts.

Meteorology department duty meteorologist Channa Rodrigo told The Island that the atmospheric disturbances over the country on Tuesday would decrease, while early stimulation of southwest monsoon would continue to dump rains in the next few days.

National Building Research Organisation has extended landslide warnings to eight districts and issued warnings to the people of Agalawatta, Palinda Nuwara, Matugama, Bulathsinhala, Kalutara and Walawita in the Kalutara district, Neluwa and Tawalama in the Galle District, Kalawana, Elapatha, Ratnapura, Balangoda, Eheliyagoda and Nivithigala in Ratnapura District, Yatiyantota, Deraniyagala, Ruwanwella and Dehiowita in the Kegalle District, Haldumulla in the Badulla district and Ambagamuwa and N’Eliya in the N’Eliya District.


Mobile Apps Newsletters ANN on You Tube